Leaden

Last night, 

I walked through a field of dead Angels, 

their halos tarnishing before my eyes, yellowed blood

leaking from theirs. From the floating orbital – street lamp – orbs, hung

Cherubs, with pieces or parts missing. 

The heavenly whiteness of the place was smoke tinged, the air was a 

greasy black smudge. 

A cello played on repeat, it wept in deep baritone sobs, then screeched its 

guts across my ears tirelessly. 

I turned to look for any signs of hope, for life, but the air was so desolate. 

Depravity hung like a dead cat from a fence post. 

Even the sun sank dark. Gold poured over with lead.

I gasped and blinked, and rubbed my eyes. I laid down and pretended to 

sleep, so when I opened them again I would be back in the functioning steel

world I know and love. But it was no use. All great and good things rotten 

with no light shining a path. Carnage, is the path I walked through. Until a

new sun rose. 

Voiceless I  move on. 

Heaven is the only Hell I’ll ever know.

About taylorgibbs2013

Check out my chap book: "The Slight Ramblings of a Madly sane Man" https://www.createspace.com/4332166 and available on Amazon as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment